With less than an hour until kick-off, the starting line ups for Malta and Spain have been announced.

The most notable change for the home team is the absence of experienced international Andrei Agius,following his red card against the Faroe Islands on Saturday.

Agius posted a message on social media for his team mates earlier today saying: “Hours away from our second qualifying game, unfortunately I can’t be there to do my part because of suspension, but I am more than sure that every one will give their heart out and stand tall.”

Tonight’s starting XI for Malta courtesy of the Maltese FA.

Henry Bonello, who saved a penalty against the Faroe Islands remains in goal for Ray Farrugia’s side as they take on a strong Spain line-up managed by Robert Moreno in Luis Enrique’s absence due to family reasons.

2013 MFA Footballer of the Year, Paul Fenech takes the Captain’s armband previously held by Michael Mifsud.

Sliema Wanderers midfielder, John Mintoff comes into the side alongside Joseph Zerafa as Kyrian Nwoko keeps his place following his first half strike against the Faroe Islands last Saturday.

Spain’s starting XI for tonight’s Euro 2020 qualifier courtesy of the Spanish FA.

The Spanish side have made a number of changes compared to the starting 11 who beat Norway 2-1.

Kepa Arrizabalaga replaces David De Gea in goal as Sergio Ramos remains in defence for Spain following his heroic performance in the side’s last qualifying match.

Mario Hermoso who has been linked with a move back to Real Madrid comes into the side replacing Athletic Bilbao centre back, Iñigo Martínez who was booked against Norway.

Álvaro Morata and Marco Asensio are the notable names in Spain’s strike force with a combined 14 international goals between them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *