The annual Malta Football Players Association awards took place last weekend.

With the Premier League championship decider between Valletta and Hibernians set to take place at the National Stadium on Saturday, the awards night was in high attendance.

The first awards of the night went to Best Futsal Player Ceino Alves, Best Female Footballer Steph Farrugia, Best First Division Player Ige Adeshina and Best Referee Trustin Farrugia Cann.

The MFA Awards 2019

The Maltese Premier League award winners are as follows:

BEST COACH: Giovanni Tedesco – Hamrun Spartans

BEST YOUNG GOALKEEPER: Jake Galea – Sliema Wanderers

BEST YOUNG DEFENDER: Juan Carlos Corbalan – Gzira United

BEST YOUNG MIDFIELDER: Jake Grech – Hibernians

BEST YOUNG FORWARD – Joseph Mbong – Hibernians

BEST YOUNG PLAYER – Joseph Mbong – Hibernians

MFPA Best Young Player of the Year 2019

BEST XI GOALKEEPER: Kristijan Naumovski – Birkirkara

BEST XI RIGHT BACK: Juan Carlos Corbalan – Gzira United

BEST XI CENTRE BACK: Andrei Agius – Hibernians

BEST XI CENTRE BACK: Steve Borg – Valletta

BEST XI LEFT BACK: Arthur Oyama – Floriana

MFPA Best XI Left Back – Arthur Oyama

BEST XI MIDFIELDER: Mislav Andjelkovic – Birkirkara

BEST XI MIDFIELDER: Santiago Malano – Valletta

BEST XI MIDFIELDER: Miguel Alba – Valletta

MFPA Best XI Midfielder – Miguel Alba

BEST XI FORWARD: Haruna Garba – Gzira United

BEST XI FORWARD: Younés Marzouk – Sliema Wanderers

BEST XI FORWARD: Mario Fontanella – Valletta

Best XI Forward – Mario Fontanella

SPECIAL AWARD WINNERS:  Michael Mifsud, David Carabott, Gilbert Agius, Carmel Busuttil, Roderick Briffa and Joe Brincat.

MERIT AWARD: President Emeritus George Abela

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Steve Borg – Valletta

Player of the Year 2019 – Steve Borg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *